Mortara sets Free Practice 1 pace in Marrakesh

ROKiT Venturi Racing's Edoardo Mortara headed the way in Free Practice 1 ahead of the Marrakesh E-Prix Round 10 on Formula E's return to the Circuit International Automobile Moulay El Hassan after a season's hiatus.

As the session came to a head, the Mercedes-EQ powered Silver Arrow 02 of Mortara was propelled to the top of the pile by the rapid Swiss-French-Italian as he looks to hammer home his title credentials as one of four real challengers heading into the race weekend.

WAYS TO WATCH: Where and how to watch every minute of Season 8

The DS TECHEETAH pair of Antonio Felix da Costa - a winner in Season 6 here - and Jean-Eric Vergne led the early throes as the times tumbled around them, with the desert dust being swept from the 2.97km circuit. Into the final 10 minutes, though, and the Mercedes-EQs kicked into gear with Drivers' World Championship leader Stoffel Vandoorne (Mercedes-EQ) sawing away at the wheel on the way to the then-quickest time. The table topper took the chequered flag seventh, however, with the session coming to an effective premature end via a yellow flag as teammate and reigning champion Nyck de Vries and Nissan e.dams' Sebastien Buemi tangled at the pit lane entrance.

RESULTS: The full FP1 times

Vergne wound up second quickest - matching his position in the standings - with the sister Venturi of Lucas di Grassi third. Porsche's Andre Lotterer will be happy to be fast out of the box here with fourth position while Mahindra Racing's Oliver Rowland will be equally encouraged by fifth. Da Costa ended the session sixth after setting the early pace.


The votes for FANBOOST ahead of Round 10 so far sees an advantage for current standings leader Stoffel Vandoorne (Mercedes-EQ) with 17% of the vote. Season 3 champion Lucas di Grassi (ROKiT Venturi Racing) is a few percent back but also in line for a boost alongside teammate Edoardo Mortara. Season 6 title winner Antonio Felix da Costa (DS TECHEETAH) and Jaguar TCS Racing's Mitch Evans will also get the nod as it stands.

Voting is open until five minutes into Round 10, which gives you plenty of time to influence the race before we go green in Marrakesh at 17:00 local time on Satursay.

YOUR VOTE COUNTS! Give your favourite driver a power-boost with FANBOOST

Coverage of Free Practice 2 follows at 07:30 local time, with qualifying ahead of the 2022 Jakarta E-Prix to come at 09:40 and the race itself at 17:00. In the meantime, catch up with the full preview.

FANBOOST FP1 Marrakesh

Get yourself up to-date with the action and the inside track from the 2022 Marrakesh E-Prix in the Live Hub