02 Dec 19

Di Grassi vs Wehrlein in Mexico City nominated for FIA Action of the Year

Remember THAT overtake in Mexico City? Yes, the epic battle between Audi Sport Abt Schaefller's Lucas di Grassi and Mahindra Racing's Pascal Wehrlein has been nominated for the FIA's Action of the Year. Keep it locked to FIAFormulaE.com to see if it wins. 

In one of the most spectacular moves ever seen in the history of the FIA Formula E Championship, Audi Sport Abt Schaeffler's Lucas di Grassi clinched the win in Mexico City after a nail-biting fight to the flag at the Autodromo Hermanos Rodriguez. 

Despite leading for 99.995% of the race, Mahindra Racing's Pascal Wehlein ran out of energy just moments from the finish before the rookie was robbed of what looked like a sure victory by di Grassi who was waiting in the wings. A hard lesson in energy management but the Mahindra driver hasn't repeated the same mistake. 

Now, as another epic year of motorsport draws to a close, we're celebrating one of the finest overtakes in the history as the FIA pitch it to the public and shortlist it as the Action of the Year. 

Keep it locked to FIAFormulaE.com to find out if di Grassi's overtake wins the FIA Action of the Year